Obama Presses "North American Union" With Mexico, Canada

By:  William F. Jasper
Obama Presses "North American Union" With Mexico, Canada

The Obama administration seeks to expand “post-NAFTA” hemispheric integration with Canada and Mexico through the secretive and dangerous Trans-Pacific and Transatlantic “trade” agreements.

President Obama’s February 19 meeting in Toluca, Mexico, with Canadian Prime Minister Stephen Harper (right) and Mexican President Enrique Peña Nieto (center) did not produce any big, headline-grabbing breakthroughs, but that does not mean that it didn’t lay new ground for political and economic integration of the three nations. In fact, in their Joint Statement issued at the conclusion of the summit, the three leaders affirmed their commitment to a number of initiatives, many of which are already far developed, including approval of the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), the "trade” agreement that is stirring widespread opposition in all three countries.

The controversial TPP is evoking broad-spectrum hostility particularly because of the total secrecy under which it has been crafted; while the American public and even the U.S. Congress have been kept from seeing the text, privileged corporations and NGOs have been given full access to the negotiated documents. The portions of the agreement that have been publicly leaked have confirmed that it poses a serious threat to national sovereignty, both from international institutions (such as the United Nations and the WTO) as well as multi-national corporations. The Joint Statement unequivocally endorses the TPP, declaring: 

We seek to set new standards for global trade through the prompt conclusion of a high standard, ambitious, and comprehensive Trans-Pacific Partnership. 

This is similar to the language of the Joint Statement issued by Obama, Harper, and then-President of Mexico Felipe Calderon at the 2012 Summit of North American Leaders, which declared: 

The Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP) provides an opportunity to further deepen our trade relationship and create jobs. The United States welcomes Canada’s and Mexico’s interest in joining the TPP as ambitious partners. 

The TPP is an attempt to forge a supranational government for the nations of the Pacific Rim modeled after the European Union. There are currently 12 members of the TPP: United States, Mexico, Canada  Australia, Brunei Darussalam, Chile, New Zealand, Peru, Singapore, Vietnam, Malaysia, and Japan.

The TPP represents the latest attempt of the globalists in the Washington ruling elite to greatly expand the power and reach of 20-year-old NAFTA, the North American Free Trade Agreement. Following the example of the European Union, they are pursuing a twin path of “broadening and deepening.” Broadening refers to the process of adding new member nations; deepening refers to the process of greater and greater “integration” and “harmonization,” the progressive convergence and intertwining of economic, political, and social sectors of the individual countries into a regional government, over which the citizens and their elected officials would have less and less control and accountability. Eventually, the various supranational regional governments would be merged into a world government under the United Nations, World Trade Organization, International Monetary Fund, and other UN-related agencies. 

Click here to read the entire article.

The JBS Weekly Member Update offers activism tips, new educational tools, upcoming events, and JBS perspective. Every Monday this e-newsletter will keep you informed on current action projects and offer insight into news events you won't hear from the mainstream media.
JBS Facebook JBS Twitter JBS YouTube JBS RSS Feed