The Alamo: Hallowed American Ground or UN Captive?

By:  Tom DeWeese
The Alamo: Hallowed American Ground or UN Captive?

Our government will have agreed to limit U.S. sovereignty if it places the Alamo, a symbol of American freedom, into the hands of the United Nations as a World Heritage Site.

In 1836, 150 courageous and dedicated men died defending the Alamo. They fought in opposition to the rise of authoritarian big government as Mexico abandoned its Republic. The men of the Alamo were essentially betrayed and sacrificed by their own Texas government because of indecision and bickering by its political leadership.

Such a betrayal is about to happen again as our government is moving forward with plans to place the Alamo, a symbol of American freedom, into the hands of the United Nations as a World Heritage Site.

As usual, when government bureaucrats attempt such a move they know will bring criticism and anger, they start their denials in advance. We are always assured that a UN designation to American historic sites means nothing. “It’s just an honorary designation that could help tourism to the site, and thus help the local economy,” we are constantly assured by government officials. And so it begins: Texas Land Commissioner Jerry Patterson assures Texans that if the Alamo and several other former Spanish missions in San Antonio are added to UNESCO’s World Heritage list, the Alamo will remain under the control of the state of Texas and the Texas Land Office. Well, Commissioner Patterson, perhaps you don’t have all the facts on your desk.

Many Americans have been disturbed to find that there are 22 areas in this nation that have been designated as United Nations World Heritage Sites. As a result of a UN treaty called “The Convention Concerning Protection of the World Cultural and Natural Heritage,” such sites come under the jurisdiction of the United Nations Educational, Scientific, and Cultural Organization (UNESCO). Such designations have been the source of major debate as to whether the UN has gained control of sovereign American territory.

These 22 U.S. sites include such important American historical landmarks as Independence Hall (where the Declaration of Independence was signed), Thomas Jefferson’s home “Monticello,” the entire University of Virginia, and even the Statue of Liberty. Also designated are such vast areas of land as Yellow Stone National Park, Yosemite National Park, the Great Smoky Mountains, and Everglades National Park (which UNESCO has now labeled as “endangered”). Fully 68 percent of American national parks, preserves, and monuments are included in the current UN designations, including vast areas of park lands and wilderness areas such as the Aleutian Islands in Alaska, Joshua Tree National Monument in California, and the Guadalupe Mountains National Park in Texas.

Click here to read the entire article.

The JBS Weekly Member Update offers activism tips, new educational tools, upcoming events, and JBS perspective. Every Monday this e-newsletter will keep you informed on current action projects and offer insight into news events you won't hear from the mainstream media.
JBS Facebook JBS Twitter JBS YouTube JBS RSS Feed